Avocado-Basil Dressing

Avo-basil dressing farm picI allowed many moons to pass without updating this site. To be honest, I almost closed it down. My journey through Mexico meant the world to me and gave me more clarity than I’ve ever experienced. I felt more sure of what I wanted out of life and that was to live more closely to the land.

I started work for a cooperative that distributes food from local farms to San Diego residents. To say I LOVE MY JOB is an understatement. I get to talk to people about fresh, organic food and bring it to them. I feel as though all of my experiences have led me to this.

I also began “farm school” through a local educational farm that focuses on sustainable agriculture. This means to me that we are growing food in a way that creates the least negative impact on the earth and provides nutritious, organic food for the community. I love this too.IMG_20130518_183836

My soul feels fed which makes me able to feed others too. Quite literally, I’ve been sharing food with others through a serendipitous series of potlucks with different groups of friends. Everyone raved about an avocado-basil dressing I made to top raw slices of zucchini on one occasion and a kale-cabbage salad on another.

CREAMY AVOCADO-BASIL DRESSING

Makes about 1 1/2 cups

Ingedients:

1 avocado
big handful basil or lemon basil
1/2 lemon squeezed
1/4 cup olive oil
3 tablespoons agave nectar
1/3 to 1/2 cup water
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Blend all but the water, salt and pepper.

2. The mixture will be thick. Add water to your desired consistency. Keep thick for a nice dip or thin out more for a dressing. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a comment